Big news my friends
BIG NEWS!
Felicity Patricia Eileen is legit potty trained. Not like half way potty trained. Not like potty trained at home but wears diapers when we go out just in case. Not like kind of potty trained but still using diapers at night and bedtime. No, my friends, not like that...
I am talking LEGIT, 100% potty trained.
And do you want to hear the craziest part about this?
I did absolutely nothing.
Truth be told I'm not really sure how it happened.
It went something like this:
One morning while getting breakfast ready Felicity said, "Mom, I'm ready to go pee pee on the potty"
Oh really? Hmm...well, ok. So I sat her on the potty expecting her to do what she had done on and off for awhile, which was sit for approximately 5 seconds, say all done, stand up and clap! But no, she peed. And that was that.
This was probably a month ago and ever since it has been eerily smooth sailing. If any of you know of my experiences with potty training Tavian then you understand that I am baffled that something could be so easy and go so smoothly. Even in that first week when I was lazy so I would still put her in a diaper when we went out she would still tell me and we would go to the potty and she would go. Craziness!
I had her little potty set up right off the living room and half the time I don't even know she has gone until she comes over to ask for her treat. Tavian is equally excited about it because I give him a treat too. It beats the fights that would ensue, and to be honest, he is her biggest fan always clapping and congratualting her. It is pretty stinkin cute.
Every time she gets off the potty we all dance and I sing a song that goes a little something like this:
"She did it! She's my big, big girl! Yeah, she did it! And I'm so proud of her! She did it! She's my big, big girl!"
She even wakes up from bedtime to go potty. In two weeks time she wasn't even wearing a diaper at nap or bedtime. Let me just say that I was totally anticipating a drawn out, horrible experience. I had told myself I would cross that bridge later this summer because I didn't have the energy or patience yet. And lo and behold she just took the bull by the horns and did it herself.
It feels great! I actually only have one kid in diapers. WAHOO! :)
Now to the second part of this story, and perhaps the only downfall to the whole escapade.
She has started to abuse the potty priveldges in the last week. I have heard Cole trying to explain to her about the boy who cried wolf and it honestly gives me a good laugh. She loves to be tucked in ready for bed and then to call for us, and behind a half smirk says
as almost a question, "I have to go potty..?"
She has mastered the art of manipulation.
I mean, what parent is going to refuse to let their child use the restroom?!?
So she sits on the potty...and then nothing happens...and then she goes back to bed....
repeat
repeat
Lol..we can still laugh about it because it has only been happening for a week and because I truly think it will be short lived. She is just such a little stinker.
Even with this little glitch, I am still so super duper proud of my big girl. She is growing so fast and becoing so independent.
No comments:
Post a Comment