Have you all seen the Pin for freezer smoothies?..(aka smoothies in a bag..that is what I call them!)
It was one of the first Pins I saw when I signed up for Pinterest, and I made some soon after that! Tavian loves smoothies and I love making them for him, but I don't love that it can be pretty time consuming and that you need to have a lot of ingredients on hand to make it work.
Well, not anymore :)
The best part of the smoothie bag idea is that almost all the ingredients are frozen ahead of time, including the yogurt. I took regular vanilla yogurt, although you could use any kind, and froze it in an ice cube tray. I also buy large amounts of fruit when it is on sale. Then I assembled my bags with the following:
2 cubes of yogurt
handful of blackberries
a few strawberries
handful of blueberries
half a banana
1-2 handfuls of spinach leaves
(you can use pretty much any combination of fruit depending on what you find on sale, but this is a usual combination for us)
Then, whenever we want a smoothie I just empty the frozen bag into my Ninja (which I love, by the way), and add milk. You could add any juice too and that would taste great, but I like to keep mine really healthy for Tavian. It is great because if he hasn't eaten as well that day I know I can give him a smoothie and he'll still be getting a good variety of food. You can also add honey before you blend if you want a little extra sweetness, but I find it still tastes great without it. The above list of ingredients makes about two sippy cups worth of smoothie, so it would probably only really be enough for one adult. I usually give Tavian a full sippy cup and then I drink whatever is left over. If I want a few smoothies for me and Cole then I just add a little more of everything to my smoothie bag.
I can't tell you how handy it is to just grab a bag from the freezer anytime we want a yummy treat. So easy, I love it. And Tavian does too :)
There have been many times the past couple weeks when I have craved a smoothie! I think I will try it with coconut milk--it will probably be pretty good that way, but I have to leave the yogurt out :(. This is a great idea, though, so your fruit doesn't go bad and to make smoothie making fast!
ReplyDeleteKale is a great green to add as well in place of spinach sometimes. It's a superfood! :)
ReplyDelete