Sunday, October 3, 2010

Scary Story

I mentioned in the post about my sister's visit that I would later say more about the night we went out in Old Town.  Well, here is our scary story:
We met friends at the Drunken Monkey, stayed only about an hour, and then headed home around 11:30pm.  We were headed Southbound on College.  Andrea let me have a drink (probably as repayment for going out with her so late...I mean really, I needed some incentive!! and beacuse she would most likely be breatsfeeding in the early morning hours) so she said she would drive us home.  Yes, I could have driven with only having one drink, but we are just extra careful about these things!  Well, as we were approaching Drake on College, we suddenly realized something was very wrong.  A white pick up truck was headed North on College, but while driving in the Southbound lane.  Sooo not okay!  There was a few moments of confusion and panick, but Praise God there weren't any other cars close to us so we were able to get all the way over to the right hand lane.  Andrea handles herself perfectly!  One of the scariest things about this was that the driver had NO idea he was going the wrong way on the wrong side of the median!  He wasn't slowing down, wasn't trying to turn around..nothing!  I immediately started laying on the horn as he passed to try and warn him, as well as all the cars he would soon be approaching!  I also called 911 and let them know what I had seen.  Of course everything happened so fast and the last thing on our mind was to get the license plate number! 
We have no real way of knowing if anything else horrible happened because of that drivers stupid decision to drive drunk, but I pray that no one was hurt because of it. 
Anyway, Andrea and I were really shooken up.  It gave me a whole new perspective as to what it must have been like for my dad when he and my mom were hit by a drunk driver...
So reckless, so senseless!
Thank you God for keeping us safe:)

2 comments:

  1. I am glad you guys are okay...scary for sure.

    ReplyDelete
  2. :( Boo that people do that. I'm so glad you all are safe and sound!

    ReplyDelete