Even though every pregnancy is different, this one has definitely stood out as unique for a few reasons. Good or bad, here are the notables...
* The first trimester was super unusual because for the first time I didn't have any morning sickness. I was never someone who was throwing up every day but I definitely had quite a bit of nausea with the others three, especially for those first three months. I kept waiting this time for it to hit me but thankfully it never did. I didn't even really have many food aversions either. It was strange. It actually had me a little but on edge. It's a hard balance between being thankful you aren't feeling sick, but trying not to worry that something is going wrong.
* I may not have been sick but I was super tired. I always get ridiculously tired when I'm pregnant but this seemed even worse. Let's be real...it's probably harder each time because there is always another kiddo added to the bunch. haha! There were a few instances this time around that I even fell asleep randomly while hanging out with Cole at night...all of a sudden I would hear, "Babe, are you asleep?" Woops!
* Another change that definitely progresses with each pregnancy is the quickening pace at which I bust out all my maternity clothes. First time around I probably didn't even really buy any until 17-20 weeks. It keeps getting sooner and sooner...this time they came out at 6 weeks when I took the pregnancy test. Ain't nobody got time for squeezing into small uncomfortable pants and feeling huge!
* That brings me to my next change...in general I show quicker and quicker each time. This is usually the norm with most women. But it doesn't make it any more fun! All the really awesome questions about how I already am showing so much and questions about how far along I am. It's super fun! (note the sarcasm)
* I also get the very real sense that I'm making a lot of people feel uncomfortable everywhere I go. I get jaw drops, and stares, and of course the never ending "your hands are full", "how close in age are they", "is this your last", blah, blah, blah. As much as I may be making others feel uncomfortable, I actually care less now more then ever about what others think. I'm sorry, does it make you uneasy seeing my huge, stretch marked belly strutting around the swimming pool in my two piece? Well, that's just too darn bad. It's what I feel most comfortable in. And no, I don't mean comfortable in the "I'm a glowing pregnant woman and I'm going to own this body and rock it"....I mean it in the very real sense that the thought of having a wet, clingy, stuck to my stomach swimsuit on makes me want to crawl out of my skin. Plus they are so expensive. So I suppose they can get over it or avert their eyes! :)
![]() |
| yup...stretch marks and all. No shame in my game. Good thing my hubs thinks I'm beautiful no matter what! |
* I can't remember if I have been asked if I was having twins with every pregnancy but definitely the majority. Felicity may have been the only one that escaped that scrutiny. As always, I'm just amazed at the expectations that the world has for pregnant women in general. Um...you know there is a human being inside of me, right? Plus women carry pregnancies so very differently that there really doesn't need to be expectations for any individual. Just a few weeks ago I had a funny (?) conversation with a mid-twenties guy that clearly, although I'm sure well intentioned, has no knowledge about women or pregnancy etc. He started by asking me if I was due any day. Woah, rule number one, don't say that! Don't ever say that! I responded, "You realize that is like a total no no to say to a pregnant woman"...It must not have really sunk in though because when I told him I had 8 weeks left he looked at me in shock and asked, "You're going to get bigger?!?" Awesome!
![]() |
| Thank goodness for Sundays...I actually get dressed and look somewhat presentable! |
*My pelvis has gone to crap again just like last time. It sucks. This time I think the extreme pain was kept at bay a little longer, which I'm thankful for, but I'm pretty sure it's down hill from here. I got my handicap sticker for my car yesterday like I did with Beckett and I'm actually really relieved to have it. I've also noticed that even though my pelvis feels shattered, I am also experiencing much more pain wrapped around in my sacrum. Sounds fun, right?!?
![]() |
| See that smile?...it fades soon below when you see how quickly I realize I'm exhausted and must fall asleep immediately |
*This is the first time I am having a baby born around the summer time. I have two Decembers and a March so this is very different. The pros of a September delivery, you ask? -you have the summer to live it up with the fam without the craziness of adding a new born to the mix. - I think birthday parties from here on out will be really awesome...December and March aren't near as fun when it comes to celebrating while in living in Colorado. -It tempers my desire to have this pregnancy over already because I don't want to wish the summer away. -By next summer the baby will be big enough to participate and do a lot of fun stuff with us! -The pool is open and it is wonderful getting all the weight off while in the water -I don't have to worry as much about slipping or falling which is a big plus when the aftermath could be absolutely catastrophic for my body - I also assume/hope that it is less likely for the babe to get a cold first thing in September. (although with Tave in school I could end up being totally wrong) The cons? I feel like that's pretty obvious. -The hot, hot summer. So freaking hot. -I love yummy alcoholic drinks in the summer and there are so many fun occasions to have a cold one...:( -Harder to hide the ever growing, very large belly. -Makes me struggle to want to wish the summer away just so I can be DONE! - Probably the hardest part of a September baby for me is that Tavian will be back in school and gone the entire day! I know he will want to be soaking in the memories and experiences with his new baby brother and I will want to be sharing that with him. (I may just pull him for a week...after all, this experience doesn't happen all the time and family is the most important thing to us!)
![]() |
| This is the most accurate portrayal of how I live day to day. Hubby's boxers, sweaty, and hair pulled back. Glamorous, right? |
*I'm not quite sure who really participates in the 2nd trimester reprieve, but that has just never been the case for me. There is never a magic moment where I suddenly don't feel like crap or couldn't collapse from exhaustion at any time. Nope. My pregnancy exhaustion and discomfort are with me the whole way through!
![]() |
| Cole can usually bet on finding me passed out somewhere around the house or yard. Lol. |
*My fibroid also grew larger then it has with my other pregnancies. Not too significantly, at least not that I know of, but it will be interesting to see what happens if I end up getting another ultrasound before I'm due. The last was at 20 weeks so there is a good possibility things could have changed since then. Also, this time around, I can feel my fibroid. I've been able to since super early on. And let me tell you, it kills!!! It is like having a super sore muscle. Of course it hurts when you rub it, but you also have that constant urge that you want to rub it! I've had a lot of people feel it along the way...for some reason I feel the need to share it with others! haha
*Cravings this time around? Let me give you a hint. I came home the other day from Sprouts with grapes, apples, pears, apples, nectarines, peaches, strawberries, blueberries, watermelon, bananas, blackberries....I think that may have been it. Ha! Cole was impressed, to say the least. But fruit just tastes so good to me right now! And with these intense cravings nothing goes to waste :) Don't take this as a healthy option. I still eat plenty of unhealthy foods, and I'm pretty sure my pull towards the fruit is probably for the sugar! lol
I'll end this post with some of our maternity photos. We are so lucky that my sister Ellen is super talented with her camera and that she was willing to snap a few pictures of us after our huge family photo session. I think I was 32 weeks at this point!
![]() |
| The 21st Grandchild on our side...pretty awesome! |
![]() |
| Can't wait to meet you sweet baby! |














No comments:
Post a Comment